These environs, that date as back as the 12th century—a privilege granted by queen Urraca in 1112—surround the mills of the river Tripes, which defines their most characteristic feature. The district's industrial character was rounded off with the presence of the pelambreras, where the city's tanners removed the hair from the hides and that served as an exit route towards Baiona. The district has iconic spaces, such as the small square next to the bridge, which was rebuilt in 1712, the fountain, or wash basin, or the ancient slaughterhouse, built in 1785 by the city Council and that today is a space for cultural activities. On the other side of the bridge and on a promontory, there stood the Jewish cemetery in the Middle Ages. In the 16th century it was the place of major properties belonging to Crypto-Jewish families and the source of its present-day name, A Saravia, stems from Antonia Saravia, because of the house and farms she owned in this quarter, together with other family members. The present-day name of the district, Bispo Salvado, comes from the important figure of Rosendo Salvado, a friar ahead of his time engaged in multifaceted tasks in Australia in favour of the dispossessed and a reference in universal human rights.