The imperial home of a famous couple !
Built between 1800 and 1802 by architects Percier and Fontaine from an
old 17th century house, the Château de Malmaison, acquired in 1799 by
Josephine Bonaparte who was looking for a land around Paris, is a unique
example for its Consular style furniture. The Château de Malmaison was
occupied under the Consulate by the imperial couple.
From 1800 to 1802, with the Tuileries in Paris, it was thus the seat of the French government. It was the scene of many working meetings, official and private receptions, concerts, balls, lunches and field games.
Josephine had her famous rose-garden planted on the estate and she also had a Temple of Love built nearby. After her divorce in 1809, Josephine continued to live in this house, so steeped in her personality. On the first floor you can still see the room where she died on 29 May 1814.
Phone : 01 41 29 05 55
Email : firstname.lastname@example.org
Website : http://musees-nationaux-malmaison.fr/chateau-malmaison
Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/chateau.malmaison
Twitter : https://twitter.com/museemalmaison
From 01/01 to 31/12.
Closed on Tuesday.
Closed exceptionally on January 1st and December 25th.
From 1 April to 30 September : 10 am to 12.30 pm and 1.30 pm to 5.45 on weekdays and 10 am to 12.30 pm and 1.30 pm to 6.15 pm on weekends.
From 1 October to 31 March : 10 am to 12.30 pm and 1.30 pm to 5.45 pm on weekends.
Office de Tourisme de Rueil-Malmaison - 18/12/2018
Report a problem
Adult: from 6.50 €
Group adults: from 5.50 €.
Free entry for children < 26 years.