After the Plage des Haas, the costal path follows the abbey’s park. A gate allows you to access this private property and discover its remarkable edifice.
History and legend tell us that in the 5th century, two twin monks, Jacut and Guéthenoc, arrived on this peninsula called « Landoac » looking for a fitting place to create a hermitage. A Benedictine monastery was established there and had a great influence on the region’s development and evolution until the French Revolution.
Sold as Bien National (National Good), sold again many times, the abbey knows many vicissitudes and different uses (Border guard caserns, home to a wealthy foreign family...).
In 1875, the monastery’s ruins are bought by the Congrégation des Sœur de l’Immaculée: a religious order from St-Méen-le-Grand (Ille-et-Vilaine), they’ll turn it into a nursing home for the nuns and a free school for the children of the area. The restoration starts right away. To finance the school, the nuns host, firstly the British tourists who came, under doctor’s orders, to take sea water and hot algae baths. They stream in right from 1876.
That’s the start of the “guesthouse”.
Along the years, the summer holiday goers keep growing in numbers; the nuns develop the hotel capacities of the Abbey and diversify the activities and the hosting: the Abbey is now a guesthouse and a high place of cultural and spiritual encounters.
Please respect the environment and the quietness of the residents.