St Laurent d’Olt was built on a rock spine, in a meander of the Lot river, and dominate it over 50 m. Narrow small steep streets lead to the top, where the Hermaux castle stays.
Constructed during the XIIIth century by the very powerful Canilhac family, it was destroyed aroud 1667, on the order of Richelieu, then reconstructed during the XVIIIth century by Valette des Hermaux.
From 1884 to 1955, it housed the school of White Fathers of Cardinal Lavigerie to train missionaries going to Africa.
Since 1965, it uses to house a Medical Educational Institute.
Formerly, the isthmus which links the castle to the village was closed by a door and a small tower. About the former castle, only stays the guard tower, with its cannons.
Its church was built in 1483. Built by Jean Graffanhi, bricklayer from Coussergues, the church of St Laurent was enlarged around 1860. The priory of Saint Laurent depended from the bishop of Rodez. In the church, there is a picture of 1651, which represents the crucifixion, a reredos from the 18th century (a Virgin giving the Rosary to Saint Dominique and Sainte Claire) and a Pietà from the 15th century.
Visitors can also discover the Jean Boudou museum. He was an occitan poet who lived and teached in St Laurent d'Olt.