
The Plouay cross was moved, and then stored in the Technical Services Department, until it was reinstated at the end of 2024 in its original location as shown on the 1843 Napoleonic cadastre. The uncut granite base and the monolithic cross, with its irregular, asymmetrical shapes and no ornamentation, attest to the age of this monument, which was probably built in the early Middle Ages, between the 12th and 15th centuries, to mark a significant event or to announce arrival in the town of Plouay.
A second square hole in the base signals that this was a double cross, fairly common in the Morbihan. The second cross has long since disappeared. In the first half of the 20th century, the inhabitants of Plouay from the surrounding villages would pass by on their way to school and say a prayer. They only ever knew the monument in this form.