In 1741, a coal seam was discovered in Littry. It was the prelude to intense industrial activity for the next 200 years, in this once peaceful market town. The story of this activity is told at the Mining Museum, via old tools, steam engine produced by the Périer brothers (1800), unique in France, reproduction of a mine shaft, scale-model of the No. 5 pit in Bruay, archaeological excavation, etc.
Telephone : 02 31 22 89 10