The chapel of Le Bouchet, in the heart of the Bouchet valley, was founded in 1704 after a flood. It boasts a beautiful altarpiece, dating back to the XVIII century.
In 1702, two years after the founding of the chapel of Les Plans, the chapel of Le Bouchet was built by 10 of the local residents following a flood. The land on which the chapel is built was donated by Jean Perrissin-Pirasset. The chapel was placed under the patronage of the Holy Virgin, of St Anthony of Padua and of the Guardian Angel. The altarpiece, dating back to the XVIII century, testifies to this origin.
Although the altar and the altarpiece are contemporary, other items have been preserved which date from the Baroque era: two twisted posts and cherubs, most likely dating from the XVIII century.
The central picture, however, dates from the XX century. It represents Our Lady of Assumption, with a picture of a starry Virgin, dressed in blue and white, crushing the serpent of sin.
On the façade of the chapel there are 2 arched windows and above the portal is an 8-branched rose window. Standing on a four-sided base, the bell tower rises above the chapel and has a ball and cross at its summit. Hanging in the tower is a bronze bell which was cast by the Paccard foundry in 1844. It replaced an older bell which had been cast in 1719. Jean Pierre Perillat Monet acted as the bell`s godfather and Jeannine Perillat-Monet as its godmother.
The chapel was renovated in 1927 and the bell tower in 1981. In 2010, the bell was electrified and the outside wall was restored with pebbledash and wall ties. The inside of the chapel was repainted, greatly improving the lighting for viewing the furniture and the Stations of the Cross.
All year round
Le Grand-Bornand Tourisme - 06/02/2020
Phone : 04 50 02 79 18
Email : firstname.lastname@example.org
Website : www.patrimoine-bornandin.fr