„Bluestone“ from Recht, the somewhat different slate
From the 18th to the beginning of the 20th century the village of Recht was characterized by stone exploitation and stonemasonry. For a long time slate (Bluestone from Recht) used to be quarried in open-cast mines. In 1886 the Margraff brothers decided to extract the bluestone in an underground shaft with was closed down before the First World War.
Today the underground gallery in Recht is open to the public again. Covering a circuit of 800 meters visitors will immerse into the mysterious world of the blue rocks and the stunning stone-mining halls. On an exciting guided tour they will learn amazing facts about the geological and mineralogical features of our region and the dangerous work of the stonemasons from Recht deep below ground.