Although worked from the middle of the 16th century, the site retains no infrastructure earlier than the mid-19th century. As a result, it stands as a memorial to the mining that took place there at the end of that century – with more intensive periods of mining and development of infrastructure following on from the two World Wars – until 1980, when it closed. Converted into a museum a few months after mining ended, the Marie pit is distinctive for its metal pithead built in the tradition of 19th century mines. The tower and winding gear, 45 metres in height that stand over n° 1 pit, rebuilt on the site of a previous tower after the Second World War is made entirely from concrete. Apart from these two pits and their machinery, an enormous sorting and washing unit of the Evence Coppée type, named for the inventors known all round the world for their mining and steelmaking equipment, built between 1942 and 1946 in red brick and with the metal frame, is the most interesting feature at the site. The infrastructure also includes workshops and forges, offices and two slagheaps 37 and 55 metres in height, one of which is still equipped with its dumping apparatus. In addition to its importance with regard to the history of industrial architecture, the main feature of this former coal mine is the fact that tours are allowed into two mine galleries located 30 and 60 metres below ground.
Building and site listed, with protection zone : 22/08/2011
Exceptional heritage site of Wallonia
World Heritage listed in 2012