Built between 1738 and 1741 by a rich banker from Liège, Michel Willems, the hôtel d’Ansembourg townhouse has a symmetrical brick and limestone façade.
The plasterwork ceiling above the staircase depicts the Apotheosis of Hercules, and another such ceiling in the tapestry room depicts Apollo Musagetes.
The tapestries, with their rustic themes, are from Audenarde and date from around 1700.
The walls of both the dining room and the first-floor Henrijean-Hennet room are covered with painted and gilded leather. The kitchen walls are covered in blue Delftware tiles.
The building was acquired by the city of Liège in 1903 and now houses that city’s museum of decorative arts.
Building listed (17-09-1941)
Listed as an exceptional heritage site of Wallonia