As early as the 8th century, Vêves castle was known as the fief of Pepin de Herstal. It then became the fearsome stronghold of the Lords of Beaufort and finally the residence to their descendants, the Counts de Liedekerke Beaufort. Despite its long and eventful past, Vêves castle stands now as a living and harmonious testimony to the past centuries. Rising fairylike from the heart of the forest, romantic Vêves, with its mighty walls, grey stone dungeon and six eagle towers, proudly dominates two valleys. A startling contrast with the inner courtyard where the rustic beauty of a half-timbered double gallery gracefully faces an elegant facade built around 1715. Once inside, discover medieval and 18th-century splendours.