Discover the village of Flumet and its little lake. Compatible stroller.
DEPARTURE: Flumet Tourist Office / St Nicolas La Chapelle
ROUTE: From the Tourist Office, go up the rue du Mont-Blanc (main street) to L'ÉGLISE (possibility to turn right to admire the Bridge of the Abyss and the houses suspended). Descend left along the departmental then turn right (in the bend) towards the PLAN D'EAU. Continue on the path of the Revue (communal road) and turn left to follow the stream of the Arrondine and join the lake. Pass the stretch of water and continue flat along the Arrondine (playground and sports fields). After the stadium, turn left onto the communal road to reach the entrance of the village. Go back to the Tourist Office.
POINTS OF INTEREST:
- The Moulin "à Tienne" of Flumet and its museum.
- The Bridge of the Abyss or Bellecombe which culminates 32 meters above the Arly.
- The hanging houses of Flumet overlooking the Arly 40 meters below.
- The Saint Theodule Church of Flumet.
- The lake for a refreshing dive!
min. 99999 m
Styles : BaladeMountain
Public : FamilyOccasional hikers
In the land of Mont-Blanc, between the Aravis and Saisies passes and on the Route des Grandes Alpes, the office of the Val d'Arly Tourist Office in Flumet welcomes you all year round! Do not hesitate to visit us during your stay.Our reception service offers the following services: - registration for free/paying activities offered by the Office or its service providers - sale of goodies with the "Flumet en Fête" logo - photocopies, scanners - provision of documentation on Flumet and the surroundings of the resort - sale of Savoie fishing permits and Haute-Savoie reciprocity - sale of hiking and snowshoeing maps - sale of mountain bike cards - sale of Trail maps
As part of the fully restored mill, come and discover the history of Flumet through the museum space: exhibition of photos, objects of traditional life and old costumes. A restaurant allows you to enjoy a woodcutter's soup.
The Abymes bridge connects Flumet with Notre-Dame-de-Bellecombe. Interesting not only for its architecture, the bridge offers stunning views over the river Arly situated 32m below, the T’ienne mill and hanging houses.The Abymes bridge, or Bellecombe bridge, was the first construction work in Val d'Arly and has been built between 1875 and 1878. It contributed to the opening up of the valley, symbolized by the "Gorges de l'Arly" road between Ugine and Sallanches. This bridge represents the entry of the region into modernity.
Flumet’s suspended houses, with their foundations built into the actual rock, overlook the river Arly 40m below. The only example of its kind in Savoie, this architectural group of buildings is most unusual, with breathtaking, dizzying views.It was in the 13th century that the Lords of Faucigny founded the village of Flumet. In order to attract people to the area, they granted franchises (freedoms and privileges) to the burghers of Flumet, each of them being given an equal-sized parcel of land to build their house on. Having created the village, they built walls around it. On the Arly side of the village, the houses were built on the rocky spur overhanging the river by several tens of metres : it was therefore not necessary to fortify the enclosure at this point, as the geography of the place offered sufficient natural protection. A gate marked the entrance to the village on this side and you can still see the opening today in the Rue du Mont-Blanc. It led to a path that runs down to the river Arly, enabling access to Notre-Dame-de-Bellecombe. Since the 13th century, despite the village fire in 1679 and various other tribulations over time, the appearance of the suspended houses has changed very little (see the cadastral plans dated 1730), except for the gradual loss of shingled roofs and the appearance of modern features (satellite dishes, big windows, plain bannisters) which has toned down the traditional charm of this style of architecture. However, the suspended houses have retained their unique style with their tangle of balconies, galleries, homes, stairways, chimneys etc. Indeed, the stone foundations that you can see probably go back to the beginnings of the village. Not forgetting their dizzying aspect which just has to be seen and which can be viewed from different points in the village (Place du Château, Pont des Abymes, Lacets des Avenières).
The lake, situated between Albertville and Mégève, is ideal for swimming and relaxation and makes up part of the Arrondine leisure centre with its various sporting facilities and children’s play equipment. Set in a leafy corner of the area.Supervised swimming in July and August. ATTENTION: vacation centers, groups or other groups may access the lake only in the morning until 12:00 noon or after 6:00 p.m. under the condition that they have their own means of surveillance and rescue, and under their own responsibility.
The start of the route is at the Tourist Office. Free parking nearby.
Topo guides references :
Walking and hiking map of the Val d'Arly for sale at 9 € or Topo Walks and Short hikes on sale at € 4 in the tourist offices.
Map references :
Walking and hiking map of the Val d'Arly for sale at 9 € or Topo Walks and Short hikes on sale at € 4 in the Tourist Offices.
Suitable for city strollers
From 01/06 to 30/09.
Dogs must be on a leash.