Fital Vakanties’s criteria:
- Accommodation: hotels *** (high capacity)
- Type of clientele : seniors/groups
- Length of stay: 8 to 15 days
- Km/day: 45 to 60km, easy roads
- Any type of circuit
max. 72 m
Description of the measures put in place for the protection of visitors -disinfection of the premises several times a day -hydroalcoholic gel available -Wearing a mask is recommended for visitors and mandatory for staff -Restricted visiting groups A Renaissance residence that has always been handed down by inheritance. The ground floor rooms house a collection of antique furniture and paintings. 13th and 16th century seigniorial chapel. One of the particularities of this castle are its very high roofs and its richly sculpted façade. About thirty old games and a human-sized labyrinth are available to the public in the park. The interiors can only be visited on a guided tour. Duration of the guided tour of the interiors: approx. 45 minutes. Tour texts available in English, German, Spanish, Russian and Dutch.
The Juno Beach Centre is the only Canadian Museum on the D-Day Beaches. Located on the very beach where Canadian troops landed on June 6, 1944, museum is an ideal location to discover Canada’s participation in the military operations of the Second World War as well as the efforts made on the home front. The Centre is also a window onto Canada today. The “Explore Juno as a Family” youth circuit makes visiting as a family more engaging and accessible. New 2022: temporary exhibition "From Dieppe to Juno: 80th Anniversary of the Dieppe Raid". Duration of the visit : 1h30. From April to October: Guided tour with a young Canadian guide of the beach and local remains of the Atlantic Wall, including the tunnels leading to a German command post on site in 1944. 45 minutes. The Juno Beach Centre is committed to a sustainable development approach. Discover all the actions on www.junobeach.org/museum/sustainable-development/
Small-scale traditional biscuit making. Visits of the production workshop by appointment. Tour lasts: 25 mins. Our produce is on sale on site in the factory boutique.
"The 100 days of Normandy" The images projected on nine screens stem from British, Canadian, German, American and French archives. On both sides of the Channel, one was preparing for this longawaited moment. Then, in spite of unfavorable weather conditions, came the morning of June 6, 1944, the fi rst step towards the liberation of Western Europe. From the landings on the 5 beaches of the Manche and Calvados departments to the tragic bombing of Le Havre on September 12, the Battle of Normandy lasted 100 days. Experience 20 minutes of pure historical intensity! To improve the visitor experience, our reception area has been fully redesigned: maps, the chronology and the outcome of the Battle of Normandy are now presented. Several British military artifacts from the Caen Mémorial collection are also on display. Film screened every 30 minutes, on the hour and at the half hour. Commentary overlooking the artificial harbour from the cinema’s terrace roof (30 minutes) during school holidays).
A major constituent of the Atlantic Wall, the Longues-sur-Mer artillery battery includes a firing command post and four casemates, each housing a 150mm artillery piece. Located in the heart of the Allied assault zone, on the top of a cliff overlooking the English Channel, the battery played a strategic role during the Allied Landings on the 6th of June 1944.
Listed on Unesco's Memory of the World register since 2007, the Bayeux Tapestry is a genuine masterpiece of Romanesque art. This one-piece canvas wall hanging, embroidered in the 11th century, is of a length of 70m and a height of 50cm. It offers an illustrated narration of the Norman Conquest of England in 1066 by the Duke of Normandy, later to become William the Conqueror. It is a truly unique document on European life in the Middle Ages. Audio guided tour of the tapestry: 25 minutes. Exhibition halls and audiovisual displays. Unaccompanied tour time: 45 mins to 1h30.
Fine example of Norman Medieval architecture consecrated on 14th July 1077 in presence of William the Conqueror. Extension and embellishment work between the 13th and 15th centuries.